top of page
Search

A Trip Down Memory Lane


You hear the saying that “everything happens for a reason” all the time. Although many people might dismiss this saying as a dated cliché, or argue that there is no such thing as fate or destiny- that you are in control over the circumstances of your own life, I personally do find some truth to this saying. I particularly believe that there are people who come into your life for a reason.

A few days ago, I was looking through some old pictures and I came across a photo of me and several other friends from grade school that was taken at a Halloween party. We were probably in the first or second grade at the time and were at our annual class Halloween party that was hosted by the mother of three triplets (pictured in the back of the photo in the white shirt.)

I remember that despite the fact that she was a single mom raising three kids on her own, every year she would invite the whole class to parties like this and would always make all of the kids feel welcomed. We probably took these parties for granted when we were younger, but looking back at this picture brings back fond memories.

Considering that this was, in fact, a Halloween party, I’m not quite sure why I’m not dressed in a costume. Perhaps I just didn’t get the memo or I decided to pull a Wednesday Addams and dress as a “homicidal maniac” because “they look just like everyone else”. Even more likely, I am looking over my shoulder at my parents as if to say, “Why didn’t anyone tell me this was a costume party?!”

Anyhow, I am no longer in contact with the two girls sitting towards the back of the picture who are both wearing purple, besides following them on Instagram and Facebook. Naturally, people grow a part as they get older and venture on their own paths. However, the smiling girl sitting next to me in the blue and pink outfit is still one of my best friends to this day.

Since we were young, Liz and I have experienced several childhood memories together. Besides being in the same class and going to these Halloween parties when we were little, I also remember us being on the same soccer team and Liz telling me that I was wearing my shin guards the wrong way. From a young age, I can say that Liz has always looked out for me!

Unfortunately, Liz ended up moving schools, and for a while, we lost touch. We no longer played soccer together or went to the same parties. We each went our separate ways, made new friends, and continued on with our lives.

To my surprise, when I first started college at Stevenson University in 2015, I received an email that Liz was going to be one of the girls who was going to live with me in the campus dorms! I was shocked that my friend from childhood that I haven’t heard from in years was not only going to the same college as me but that we were actually going to live together.

Now, four years later, Liz and I still live together as seniors in college. In this picture, we are no longer little girls wearing costumes but young adults who are ready to graduate and become lawyers and psychologists. It is crazy to think that we have made it through all four college years together that were filled with lots of laughter, dancing, and taco nights.

Looking back at these two photos and realizing how much we have grown up brings up a bittersweet feeling inside of me. On one hand, I feel so lucky to have Liz as such an amazing friend. Being around Liz and her fun/adventurous personality has really taught me how to live in the moment and to have a positive outlook on life. On the other hand, it makes me sad to know that in a few short months, we won’t live together anymore and will both go our separate ways.

Although this change is inevitable, I know that Liz and I will always be great friends, and that no matter where life takes us, I know that Liz has come into my life for a reason and that that we will always have a close friendship.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page