top of page
Search
  • thetinytravelerblog

The Top Three Best Foods of London

Updated: May 14, 2019

I am always ready to try new things, especially when it comes to food! Although I do not have any experience with international cuisine, I was ready to experience the different kinds of foods that London had to offer. Overall, I think the food in London was fairly similar to food that you could eat in the United States, particularly in terms of typical “bar food” such as fries (or chips), wings, and burgers. As a whole, the majority of the meals that I consumed in London were delicious; however, the more typical foods that I could eat in America were a bit boring and mundane. I think American food generally has more flavor and seasoning added to it than British food does, but that may also be a reason why America has a much higher obesity rate than does the United Kingdom. Anyhow, with this being said, I want to focus on the good food that I ate during my time abroad and would like to discuss the three best dishes I ate in London.


1. Three Cheese Toastie

The first really good meal I had in London was at the Brompton food market, which is a few streets down from the Victoria and Albert Museum. When I sat down at this location for lunch, I was starving. I had already walked a long distance that day, so I was tired and ready to reenergize and eat. There were a lot of tempting items on the menu such fresh avocado on pumpernickel, or a hearty cream of corn soup, but I ultimately decided to get the three cheese toastie with a side salad, and let me tell you, I do not regret this choice one bit. First of all, can I say how much I love how they refer to sandwiches as “toasties” in England? I think it sounds so much more amusing!

When the food finally came out and I took the first bite of my toastie, I almost fell off my chair (but I didn’t because I was hungry and did not want to cause a scene). This was like a glorified version of the best American grilled cheese I had ever eaten. The sourdough bread was warm and crispy and as I bit into the toastie, I tasted a melody of cheeses and butter. This was the perfect comfort food to eat on a tiring day! Aside from the toastie, the side salad was both tasty and visually appealing. Garnished with ripe tomatoes, cucumbers and baby pickles, the garden mix of greens paired nicely with the sandwich. The best part about the salad was it’s sweet, vinagrette-like dressing that was light and delicious. All things said, I was very satisfied with this meal and would absolutely go to this restaurant again if time permitted.


2. Margarita Pizza

Another one of my favorite things that I got for lunch was pizza! I know that I mentioned before that I was looking to venture out a bit more and explore new things, but I assure you that this pizza was nothing like pizza I have ever tasted in America. Dominoes, Papa Johns, and Pizza Hut would all be put out of business if they knew what Vicoli de Napoli had to offer. This restaurant served authentic Italian pizza that was so good I was tempted to take the next flight out of London to Italy. I ordered a traditional margarita pizza that was cooked in the oven, and when it came out, I almost cried.

On my plate, I beheld something I expected to see on an Instagram food page. The pizza had thin crust that was covered by fresh tomato sauce, mozarella, and a basil garnish. Before I even took a bite out of this pizza, the cheese slid right off and back onto the pan! When I finally bit into this glorious creation, I was pleasantly shocked. The tangy flavor of the sauce mixed with the fresh cheese and chewy crust melted in my mouth. In that moment I felt that I could not possibly be in London, but at a pizzaria somewhere in Italy. This was easily one of the best meals I had in London (if not in my entire life) and I can assure you that sometime in the near or distant future, much more authetic Italian pizza like this will be consumed.


3. Fish and Chips

The last meal I really enjoyed in London was fish and chips; a British classic! I have never tried this dish in the United States, so I was glad to be trying it here where it is so popular. Truthfully, I tried this meal twice during my trip. The first time was on the night I arrived in London. I expected to be served strips of fish with fries on the side, but to my surprise, I was given a whole fried fish on my plate, which I found extremely amusing (perhaps because of how ridiculously tired I was at the moment). In any case, I actually did not enjoy the meal as much as I thought I would. I thought the fish was a bit dry and unseasoned and honestly, I think I was too tired to truly enjoy my food.

However, I did not let this get me down. On my last day in London, I went to the Balans Soho Society Restaurant, and even though I had originally ordered a burger in advance, I was told that I could change my order if I wanted to do so. That I did! For my last night in London, I decided to give the fish and chips another go, and I am glad I did. This tasted much more like what I hoped it would on day one— the fish was flaky and seasoned and the fries were plump and tasted so delicious dipped in horseraddish sauce and garnished with fresh lemon!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page