top of page
Search
  • thetinytravelerblog

My Kind of London

Updated: May 14, 2019



Busy. Exhausting. Overwhelming! These are some of the words that I would use to describe my first few days in London. I am not used to constantly moving from one place to the next and in engaging in so many different activities within the span of 24 short hours. Nonetheless, I was also feeling engaged and excited about everything that I had been doing. Speeding along the Thames in a riverboat, gazing at the Tower Bridge from up high at Sky Gardens, and marveling at furniture from the Baroque period that was displayed at the Victoria and Albert Museum seemed like a dream.


Aside from these wonderful locations, I also had the privilege of visiting Eltham Palace- an incredibly beautiful Art Deco-style mansion in Greenwich. Originally owned by Stephen and Virginia Courtauld, Eltham Palace has been around for centuries, and not only attracts American tourists like myself, but also London natives, such as the two adorable twins I saw running around in neon pink puffy coats yelling in baby British accents, “Mummy, I am having so much fun!”


When I actually walked onto the grounds of Eltham Palace and gazed up at the magnificent mansion, I felt as though I was in a different world. It seemed as if I had walked straight into a Jane Austen novel and that at any moment, Mr. Darcy might come out from around the corner and greet me. As I explored the interior of the mansion, I couldn’t help but wonder what it would have been like to actually live here and have lavish dinner parties and sit around the parlor drinking tea.


I think the best part about this location was the exterior of the mansion. There was so much space to walk around outside amongst acres of green grass, blooming flowers, and sunshine. Being outside and feeling the warm sun on my face brought a sense calmness over my body and mind, and I wished that I could have stayed there the entire day reading a good book somewhere under a tree. This, right here, was everything and more that I had envisioned London to be.


As I explored the palace, I couldn’t help but notice that I could see tall buildings from the city in the distance. It made me realize that even though many things have changed over the years in terms of London’s technology and society, there would always be places like this that people could visit in order to relax and take a break from the crowded, bustling city. Going to Eltham Palace really made me appreciate the classic beauty that London had to offer, and I hope that someday I can visit this place again.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page