top of page
Search
  • thetinytravelerblog

The Four MUSTS to do in London

Updated: May 14, 2019

Overall, I had a wonderful experience in London. I was able to participate in so many exciting activities, meet many different kinds of people, and expand my worldview, which I am very grateful for. I wish that I was able to stay in London for more than a week because there are many more things I wish I could have done, but I know that someday I will return to London in the future. With this being said, for only being in London for a short amount of time, I had A LOT of adventure! Now that I have crossed London off my bucket list, I want to share a list of places that any first-time traveler to London must experience.


1. Visit the Victoria and Albert Museum (the V&A). The V&A, the world's top museum of art and design, is unlike any museum I have ever seen before. It is huge in size and you could spend a whole day getting lost in it and exploring artwork from many different time periods. I think one of my favorite parts of the museum was looking at classic Italian sculptures such as the statue of David by Michaelangelo. Even though this was a replica of the original, staring up at this huge statue that looked exactly like the real thing was breathtaking. Whether you are looking for something from a specific time period or just looking around, you are sure to find something that captivates your interest.



2. Go to Buckingham Palace. If you are visiting London, this should be one of the top destinations on your list because this is where the Queen of England lives! Several days into our trip, I had the privilege of standing by the palace gates and watching the Changing of the Guard, which is a 45 minute ceremony that occurs every day. (Remember to get there an hour or so early so that you can see the ceremony, because there are hundreds of people in attendance.) I think it was very interesting to watch this traditional and historical experience, and it is so interesting to me that the Queen is in the house as all this is going on. For all we know, she could be peeping at us outside of her window!



3. Take a stroll through Hyde Park. This is another great location to visit, especially because it is only a short walk away from Buckingham Palace. Hyde Park is a gorgeous place to walk or ride a bicycle and really take in London’s natural beauty. From spending time looking at the swans and the geese in the lake to walking around on the green grass and looking at the flowers already beginning to bloom, this is a great way to unwind and take a break from the hustle and bustle of the busy city. And of course, British men and women are guaranteed to be walking all kinds of adorable dogs throughout the park, which is as good a reason as any to visit!



4. Walk the Tower Bridge at night. I quickly learned on the first day of my trip that Americans often confuse the Tower Bridge with the London Bridge- probably because it is the largest, most grand-looking bridge, and is what many people think of when they think of London. However, an easy way to remember that this is the Tower Bridge is that it is located right across from the Tower of London. I had seen the Tower Bridge during the daytime and marveled in it’s grandness and beauty, but I would also highly recommend taking the time to walk on the bridge at some point at night when it is all lit up along with the rest of the city. Seeing the lights from the buildings around the bridge reflect onto the Thames River was mesmerizing and I had to stand there for several minutes to take it all in.



Regardless of how you spend your time in London, these are only a few great sites that should definitely be checked out. You will be glad you did!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page